All Syllabus

Home About How to become an IAS/IPS officer? Free ebooks          




Indian Administrative Service (IAS)

Indian Police Service (IPS)

Central Civil Services - Group A

Indian Foreign Service (IFS)

Indian Revenue Service (IRS) - Income Tax, Customs and Central Excise

Indian Audits & Accounts Service (IAAS)

Indian Post & Telecommunication Accounts and Finance Service (IP&TAFS)

Indian Railway Traffic Service (IRTS)

Indian Railway Accounts Service (IRAS)

Central Industrial Security Force (CISF)

Indian Defence Accounts Service (IDAS)

Indian Defence Estate Service (IDES)

Indian Information Service (IIS)

Indian Railway Personnel Service (IRPS)

Railways Protection Force (RPF)



Indian Revenue Service (IRS) - Income Tax, Customs & Central Excise

The IRS comprises of IRS – Customs and Central Excise (C&CE) and IRS – Income Tax (IT). It is one of the Group a Central Civil Service of India. The cadre controlling authority for IRS is Ministry of Finance, Department of Revenue, Central Board of Excise and Customs (CBEC) / Central Board of Direct Taxes (CBDT). The Service was formed during the year 1946. The selected candidates go through training sessions in different institutes.

  • Lal Bahadur Shastri National Academy of Administration at Massouri: 3 month foundation course.
  • National Institute of Financial Management at Faridabad: 15 month profession training for officers of Customs and Excise.
  • National Academy of Direct Taxes at Nagpur: 15 month profession training for officers of Income Tax.

Cadre size: 2311 (C&CE), 2500 (IT) posts (direct recruitment – 50%, promotion - 50%. Lateral entry – if any).

Functions of the Officers

  • IRS officers are concerned with the collection, administration and policy formation of direct (viz. Income, Corporate, Wealth, FBT etc.) and indirect (viz. Central Excise, Service Tax and even Customs Duty) taxes.

Service Hierarchy


Pay scales

Designation in Field (Commercial)

Designation in Field (Operational)

Junior time scale


Assistant commissioner


Senior time scale


Deputy commissioner


Junior administrative grade


Joint commissioner


Selection grade


Additional commissioner


Senior administrative grade




Higher administrative grade


Chief Commissioner or Director General




Member, CBEC / CBDT

26000 (fixed)


Chairman, CBEC 
CBDT or Chairman CEIB